Direkt zum Inhalt

Virtual SPM User Meeting 2021

SPM User Meeting 2021 Banner

Found at the heart of many nanotechnology applications, scanning probe microscopy (SPM) offers powerful techniques to image and control microscopic objects. As a key enabler of new SPM modes for highly demanding applications, Zurich Instruments wishes to bring together the community of users who may be facing distinct measurement challenges and yet share core competencies and know-how.

Register now

Don't forget to submit your best image to the AFM Image Contest 2021 here!

This virtual edition of our 5th SPM User Meeting focuses on:

  • Celebrating our customers' achievements with high-level scientific talks;
  • Fostering interactions, exchanging ideas and networking via open Q&A sessions and a round table; and
  • Empowering researchers by sharing best practices, tips and tricks in the form of detailed tutorials to create a community of super-users.

Invited Speakers

Dr. Sascha Sadewasser, INL

Dr. Dominik Ziegler, Nanosurf

Dr. Benjamin Grévin, SyMMES CEA-CNRS-UGA Grenoble

Dr. Thilo Glatzel, University of Basel

Dr. Stefan Weber, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research

Dr. Kanghyun Chu, EPFL

Sascha Sadewasser

Sascha Sadewasser has been heading the Laboratory for Nanostructured Solar Cells at the International Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory (INL), Portugal since 2011. He holds a Diplom in Physics from RWTH Aachen University in Germany, and a PhD from Washington University in St. Louis, US. After postdoc positions in Berlin and Barcelona, he became group leader and later deputy department head at Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin before taking up his present position. Sascha has published more than 110 peer-reviewed papers, has written five book chapters and two books, and has been granted three patents.

Dominik Ziegler

Dominik Ziegler is CTO of Nanosurf, where he directs all research and development efforts, and founder of Scuba Probe Technologies. He received his PhD from ETH Zurich and has 20 years of experience in designing and processing micro-/nano-electromechanical systems (MEMS/NEMS). During his PhD and his postdoctoral fellowship at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in the US, he developed advanced scanning probe instrumentation that includes imaging techniques for more sensitive and reliable measurements of electrical surface potentials at the nanometer scale.

Benjamin Grévin

Benjamin Grévin received the PhD from Université Grenoble Alpes (UGA), France in 1998. His doctoral work dealt with nuclear magnetic resonance investigations of high-Tc superconductors and related cuprates. After a postdoctoral position at the University of Geneva, he joined the UMR5819 research center (CEA-CNRS-UGA). He was awarded the bronze medal of CNRS in 2005, and was accredited to direct research in 2006. His current projects focus on the development of advanced scanning probe microscopy techniques for local investigations of the opto-electronic properties of donor-acceptor bulk heterojunctions and molecular self-assemblies, hybrid perovskites and 2D van der Waals interfaces.

Dr. Thilo Glatzel

Thilo Glatzel received his PhD in physics from the Free University of Berlin in 2003, working on thin-film solar cells. He then held research positions at Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin in Germany, at the University of Yamanashi in Japan and at the University of Basel in Switzerland. Since 2005, he has been working in the force microscopy group of Prof. E. Meyer in Basel, where his research focuses on the opto-electronic properties of nanometer-scale structures and materials with an emphasis on single molecule characterization. Thilo is an executive board member of the Beilstein Journal of Nanotechnology and has edited two books on Kelvin probe force microscopy.

Stefan Weber

Stefan Weber received his PhD in 2011 from Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany and Seoul National University in South Korea. After a postdoc at University College Dublin, Ireland, he joined the Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research where he has been holding the position of junior professor since 2015. Together with his interdisciplinary team of scanning force microscopy enthusiasts, Stefan constantly explores the limits of this method with the goal of understanding the physics that underlies nanoscale systems.

Kanghyun Chu

Kanghyun Chu received his PhD in physics from the Korean Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST) in Daejeon, South Korea in 2017. Following postdoctoral research activities at the same institute, in 2019 he joined EPFL in Switzerland, where he now conducts research in piezo-response force microscopy (PFM) and relaxor ferroelectric materials.


Thursday, May 20 - Morning session

9:00 - 9:10 Introduction from Magdalena Marszalek, Zurich Instruments
9:10 - 9:35 Stefan Weber, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research
Imaging surface potential dynamics on perovskite solar cells
9:35 - 10:00 Benjamin Grévin, SyMMES CEA-CNRS-UGA Grenoble
Implementation of pump-probe KPFM under UHV and application to third-generation solar cells
10:00 - 10:25 Sascha Sadewasser, INL
Time-resolved surface photovoltage of chalcogenide materials
10:25 - 10:40 Poll and short video break
10:40 - 11:10 Romain Stomp, Zurich Instruments
Tutorial with Nanosurf FlexAFM: write and read on a PZT sample with the UHFLI
11:10 - 12:00 Round table with invited speakers on KPFM technique and trends
12:00 - 15:00 Lunch break


Thursday, May 20 - Afternoon session

15:00 - 15:25 Thilo Glatzel, University of Basel
Force reconstruction by intermodulation products of a tuning-fork-based AFM
15:25 - 15:50 Dominik Ziegler, Nanosurf
Nano-electrical characterization tools at Nanosurf
15:50 - 16:20 Virtual coffee break
16:20 - 16:50 David Albertini, Institut des Nanotechnologies de Lyon
and Mehdi Alem, Zurich Instruments
Tutorials on the DAQ module: multiple DFRT image acquisition on a Bruker AFM
16:50 - 17:15 Kanghyun Chu, EPFL
Visualization of the fine domain structure of relaxor ferroelectrics: combining lateral DFRT and angle-resolved PFM
17:15 - 17:30 Image contest prize awards
17:30 - 17:35 Closing remarks
Kontaktieren Sie uns